The Skinny on Sweet and Low

In: Science

Submitted By mydesign777
Words 791
Pages 4
The Skinny on Sweet and Low

More that 20,000 years ago, dating back to cave men, there has been a desire for sweetener. Now in the 20th century there are many technologies and comforts to have that added sweetness without all the calories. Fortunately, a low calorie sweetener was developed called saccharin. Saccharin is the world’s oldest sweetener and the main ingredient in the artificial sweetener Sweet N Low. Sweet N Low has been a favorite to many and used on a daily basis for many of years.
Saccharin was discovered accidently in 1879 by researchers at John Hopkins University. A chemist by the name of Constantin Fahlberg was experimenting with coal tar derivatives and discovered its sweet nature. Saccharin is made up of C7H5NO3S and is an organic compound which means that it’s molecules contain carbon. The chemical make up is the element followed by the number of atoms of each element. Saccharin was produced shortly after it was discovered but was first used mostly for diabetics because it does not cause a spike in blood sugar levels like sugar did. Saccharin grew to be popular during World War I to compensate for sugar shortages. By the 1960’s and 1970’s people dieting began to use saccharin because it was calorie free. Saccharin is used as an additive in many foods especially soda’s, medicines and different candies. It is also available in small packets, in a sugar form like you will find in Sweet N Low. It can be added to baked goods and in regular every day meal preparation that calls for sugar or to sweeten your favorite tea.
There are still safety concerns for those who continue to use saccharin. There have been studies that showed that saccharin combined with cyclamate caused bladder cancer in lab rats. However it was stated in 1997 by the Center for the Science in Public Interest that saccharin be removed from the list of potential…...

Similar Documents

Big Skinny

...9-911-033 REV: FEBRUARY 8, 2012 BENJAMIN EDELMAN SCOTT DUKE santhosh Online Marketing at Big Skinny As Big Skinny CEO Kiril Alexandrov bicycled to work one sunny afternoon in August 2010, his mobile phone began to ring incessantly. His marketing director and wife, Catherine Alexandrov, was on the line with big news: “4,000 people just ordered wallets through our online store!” But there was a problem: because of a glitch in an online promotion, most of those wallet s were being given away for free. Kiril took a deep breath and began to rethink his online marketing plans. Just a few weeks ago, Kiril had been at the top of his game, selling Big Skinny wallets at a Harvard Square street fair. Fairgoers passing the Big Skinny booth carried packed wallets, which Kiril could cut down to size. “Here’s a regular wallet, just out of the box,” he would say, “and here’s a Big Skinny. It’s the same thickness, but it’s already stuffed with 16 pieces of hard plastic—the national average.” Kiril had mastered this pitch, and he could easily sell over 100 wallets in a full-day fair. Street fair sales pitches had launched Big Skinny, and retail distribution and print advertising had fueled further expansion. But Kiril had bigger aspira tions, and online marketing seemed the key to achieving maximal growth. The overwhelming response to Big Skinny’s promotion glitch confirmed that consumers were ready to buy wallets online. But reaching consumers over the Internet......

Words: 4561 - Pages: 19

Sweet

...between the: * Industrialized “First World” countries with multi-party, parliamentary systems; * “Second World” societies meaning the Communist countries with centrally planned economies and one-party states; and * “Third World” societies which were the developing world. On the non-industrialized societies: * Developing societies include people living in traditional fashion, but their political systems are modeled on the nation-state model. These societies therefore have been in large part created by contact with Western industrialization. * In most developing societies, poverty tends to be at its worst in rural areas. Many of the poor are to be found in areas where arable land is scarce, agricultural productivity is low, and drought or floods common. * Women usually more disadvantaged than men. The Impact of Globalization: * We can only understand the industrialized order against the backdrop of the developing world. * As the world rapidly moves toward a single, unified economy, businesses and people move about the globe in increasing numbers in search of new markets and economic opportunities. * Networks of peoples span national borders, providing cultural connections between their birth homes and their adoptive countries. * A handful of languages come to dominate. The impact of globalization: (continued) * The future: within a generation or two at the most, all of the world’s once-isolated cultures will be touched......

Words: 5518 - Pages: 23

Big Skinny

...As Big Skinny CEO Kiril Alexandrov bicycled to work one sunny afternoon in August 2010, his mobile phone began to ring incessantly. His marketing director and wife, Catherine Alexandrov, wason the line with big news: “4,000 people just ordered wallets through our online store!” But therewas a problem: because of a glitch in an online promotion, most of those wallet s were being givenaway for free. Kiril took a deep breath and began to rethink his online marketing plans. Just a few weeks ago, Kiril had been at the top of his game, selling Big Skinny wallets at a Harvard Square street fair. Fairgoers passing the Big Skinny booth carried packed wallets, which Kiril could cut down to size. “Here’s a regular wallet, just out of the box,” he would say, “and here’s a Big Skinny. It’s the same thickness, but it’s already stuffed with 16 pieces of hard plastic—the national average.” Kiril had mastered this pitch, and he could easily sell over 100 wallets in a full-day fair. Street fair sales pitches had launched Big Skinny, and retail distribution and print advertising had fueled further expansion. But Kiril had bigger aspira tions, and online marketing seemed the key to achieving maximal growth. The overwhelming response to Big Skinny’s promotion glitch confirmed that consumers were ready to buy wallets online. But reaching consumers over the Internet was challenging. Scores of online ad services offered to help, but they imposed high costs or other constraints. Returning to his......

Words: 4417 - Pages: 18

Big Skinny

...Kiril is a CEO of Big Skinny – a wallet that can hold the same amount of “stuff” but it also looks and feels skinny. It doesn’t bulge out in the pocket, aesthetically pleasing and easy to handle. In the opening of this study, we are introduced to the company through anecdotal account of how over 4000 wallets have been sold, but unfortunately no revenue was to speak of since there was a glitch, causing customers to buy the wallet for free. This is a case study on how Kiril took Big Skinny online. The product that sells itself. Kiril created a wallet that looks like a traditional wallet outside but inside it packs up to 40 credit cards and still comes less than an inch thick. The material used is is one of the thinnest but a very durable material on the market made out of microfibers. The wallet, called Big Skinny, did very well in physical locations in terms of sales. At first it was in trade-shows and then it sold at various festivals and locations. Soon Kiril started physical advertisement using traditional media such as print and billboards like advertisement. Big skinny was doing so well that customers became instant fans. Judging by the response from traditional advertising seemed to be working. So after Kiril decided to take Big Skinny online. The Case study goes on to dispense how Big Skinny had gone from offline to online. Taking big skinny online. Despite having online presence from the start using e-commerce online store, Kiril had a challenge on his hand......

Words: 738 - Pages: 3

Big Skinny

...Search Strategy We believe that Big Skinny should continue to advertise via sponsored search ads. Based upon the Cost per Click model presented to us in Exhibit 4 in the case study, the numbers show that they are able to generate a fair amount of revenue. If we evaluate the data within Big Skinny’s CPC model, we can determine the cost and revenue as follows - Cost = Impressions x CTR x CPC Cost = 42,986 x 4.8% x .54 Cost = $1,114.20 Revenue = Impressions x CTR x Conversion Rate x Revenue Per Conversion** Revenue = 42,986 x 4.8% x .05 x $20 Revenue = $2,063.40 ** The value of $20 for Revenue Per Conversion is being assumed for this exercise. For one, CEO Kiril Alexandrov is quoted as saying “for $20, your wallet will be that thin forever” in the case study. Additionally, after searching their website, the vast majority of wallets listed on their website are being sold for more than $20. Therefore, $20 is used as a bare minimum price for each wallet sold. Even with that in mind, you can see that the revenue is almost double that of the cost. Taking into consideration that a certain number of the wallet sales will most likely be more than $20, the revenue will be larger in reality. This proves that their sponsored search advertising campaign is generating revenue. With that said, we can’t confirm that it is profitable since we weren’t provided with cost of manufacturing and distributing the product. One keyword that Big Skinny might want to decrease......

Words: 1902 - Pages: 8

Skinny Case

...Big Skinny Case Online Marketing at Big Skinny Case Study : “Online Marketing at Big Skinny” Kiril is a CEO of Big Skinny – a wallet that can hold the same amount of “stuff” but it also looks and feels skinny. It doesn’t bulge out in the pocket, aesthetically pleasing and easy to handle. In the opening of this study, we are introduced to the company through anecdotal account of how over 4000 wallets have been sold, but unfortunately no revenue was to speak of since there was a glitch, causing customers to buy the wallet for free. This is a case study on how Kiril took Big Skinny online. The product that sells itself. Kiril created a wallet that looks like a traditional wallet outside but inside it packs up to 40 credit cards and still comes less than an inch thick. The material used is is one of the thinnest but a very durable material on the market made out of microfibers. The wallet, called Big Skinny, did very well in physical locations in terms of sales. At first it was in trade-shows and then it sold at various festivals and locations. Soon Kiril started physical advertisement using traditional media such as print and billboards like advertisement. Big skinny was doing so well that customers became instant fans. Judging by the response from traditional advertising seemed to be working. So after Kiril decided to take Big Skinny online. The Case study goes on to dispense how Big Skinny had gone from offline to online. Taking big skinny online. Despite having......

Words: 754 - Pages: 4

Big Skinny

...imperative for us to formulate a solution that will in effect adjust our business objective and outlook to get big skinny to the world and not just have success via fairs and expo’s. Big Skinny’s success could be hanging in the balance if we don’t adjust and change our approach. The world is changing and customers are more technologically savvy and shop now at the comforts of their home, office, in traffic, the bus stop or passing time in a train or train station. I have called this meeting in an effort for you the staff and a few investors to observe what Big Skinny, was, is and will be to ensure comfort of customer, investors and literally, your pockets. Here before us are our Marketing/Advertising Manager Mrs. Petagaye Francis, our IT Manager Ms. Gracian Grant, our Warehouse and Distribution Manager Ms. Maxine Grant and our Finance Manager Ms. Sashelle Gooden. They will take you through the steps that we are about to take that will revolutionize Big Skinny to ensure longevity of the company and to show you our investors where will be in the next 3 – 5 years with the changes that we are about to implement. First, Marketing/advertising will tell you of the challenges that Big Skinny is faced with and what will be implemented to avert these challenges for the long-term good of Big Skinny. Then our IT Manager will tell you about the current conditions faced by Big Skinny in reaching the customers and what our plans for us to reach our customers easier with the click of a......

Words: 373 - Pages: 2

Big Skinny

...| 2 | Executive Summary | 3 | Statement of the marketing challenge and evidence in support | 4++ | Analysis of current situation to include: * Market description for wallets overall and specifics of Big Skinny target market(s)  * Competitive analysis of Big Skinny direct competitors, comparing on important features such as thinness, cost, depth of product mix, revenues etc.  * Analysis of Big Skinny's website  * Analysis of Big Skinny's prior online and offline (traditional) promotion efforts * Management considerations * Financial considerations  | 5++ | Analysis of each of the 7 techniques discussed in the case study, including advantages and disadvantages of each specific to Big Skinny  | 6++ | Recommended online media plan (must be compiled from some or all of those seven techniques outlined above).  Recommendation should include at least three of the online tools, may have more if the case facts justify it  | 7++ | Recommended offline (traditional) media to support online efforts to sell  Big Skinny wallets  | 8 | Management and financial challenges to implement your recommendations  | 9 | Endnotes  | 10 | Bibliography  | 11 | Exhibits, if any | Case Study 3:  Big Skinny Wallets Due:  End of Week 6    Case Overview Big Skinny CEO Kiril Alexandrov is an expert at selling his company's product -- ultra thin wallets -- through in-person interactions and conventional media. He has been very successful based to a large extent on Kiril's......

Words: 1006 - Pages: 5

The Skinny on Fad Diets

...The Skinny on Fad Diets Jessica Johnson DeVry University FAD DIETS You had to stay over at work, pick up the kids, taking them to their various activities, running through the drive through for a quick meal, and begin to unwind on the couch. You could have gone for a walk on your lunch break, hit the gym after work, and made a well-balanced meal for all to eat at the dinner table but with deadlines, a demanding job, and a family to raise with an even crazier schedule; by the end of the day you are beat. However, those extra thirty pounds are just sitting there, waiting to be shed. One day, a thought occurs to seek out a solution, naturally this leads to the internet. A quick Google search and you are now being overloaded with a list of diets, pills, and drinks that will completely change your life around. All without having to rearrange your daily planner to make the life style changes needed for healthy weight loss. Sites with stories of “I lost 20 pounds in the first 2 weeks on diet ABC.” or “Diet XYZ gave me energy to accomplish everything I wanted in the day, while becoming and looking like the person that I want to be.” In other words, the search has brought up results on fad diets. As the schedules of Americans become more and more jam packed, the rate of becoming an unhealthy adult is rising. Currently 69% of Americans are overweight or obese (Jadhav, 2010). Stress from family life, a job, and a tight schedule has a way of causing one to gain weight and......

Words: 3033 - Pages: 13

Sweet Potato

...NUTRITIONAL VALUE Sweet potato – is known to be a good source of ascorbic acid (vitamin C) and certain B vitamins that are considered essential to human health. Besides the commonly consumed root of the plant, certain tissues in sweet potato are also edible and high in nutritional value. Although studies have confirmed that water-soluble vitamins exist in sweet potato roots and leaves, there has been limited information about how these vitamins are actually distributed in the plants.  Not only are sweet potatoes readily available, inexpensive, and delicious, they have many other benefits for your health. 1. They are high in vitamin B6 – Vitamin B6 helps reduce the chemical homocysteine in our bodies. Homocysteine has been linked with degenerative diseases, including heart attacks. 2. They are a good source of vitamin C – While most people know that vitamin C is important to help ward off cold and flu viruses, few people are aware that this crucial vitamin plays an important role in bone and tooth formation, digestion, and blood cell formation. It helps accelerate wound healing, produces collagen which helps maintain skin’s youthful elasticity, and is essential to helping us cope with stress. It even appears to help protect our body against toxins that may be linked to cancer. 3. They contain Vitamin D – which is critical for immune system and overall health at this time of year.  Both a vitamin and a hormone, vitamin D is primarily made in our bodies as a......

Words: 1725 - Pages: 7

Big Skinny

...9 -9 1 1 -0 3 3 REV: FEBRUARY 8, 2012 BENJAMIN EDELMAN SCOTT DUKE KOMINERS Online Marketing at Big Skinny As Big Skinny CEO Kiril Alexandrov bicycled to work one sunny afternoon in August 2010, his mobile phone began to ring incessantly. His marketing director and wife, Catherine Alexandrov, was on the line with big news: “4,000 people just ordered wallets through our online store!” But there was a problem: because of a glitch in an online promotion, most of those wallets were being given away for free. Kiril took a deep breath and began to rethink his online marketing plans. Just a few weeks ago, Kiril had been at the top of his game, selling Big Skinny wallets at a Harvard Square street fair. Fairgoers passing the Big Skinny booth carried packed wallets, which Kiril could cut down to size. “Here’s a regular wallet, just out of the box,” he would say, “and here’s a Big Skinny. It’s the same thickness, but it’s already stuffed with 16 pieces of hard plastic—the national average.” Kiril had mastered this pitch, and he could easily sell over 100 wallets in a full-day fair. Street fair sales pitches had launched Big Skinny, and retail distribution and print advertising had fueled further expansion. But Kiril had bigger aspirations, and online marketing seemed the key to achieving maximal growth. The overwhelming response to Big Skinny’s promotion glitch confirmed that consumers were ready to buy wallets online. But reaching consumers over the Internet......

Words: 4265 - Pages: 18

Big Skinny

...9 -9 1 1 -0 3 3 REV: FEBRUARY 8, 2012 BENJAMIN EDELMAN SCOTT DUKE KOMINERS Online Marketing at Big Skinny As Big Skinny CEO Kiril Alexandrov bicycled to work one sunny afternoon in August 2010, his mobile phone began to ring incessantly. His marketing director and wife, Catherine Alexandrov, was on the line with big news: “4,000 people just ordered wallets through our online store!” But there was a problem: because of a glitch in an online promotion, most of those wallets were being given away for free. Kiril took a deep breath and began to rethink his online marketing plans. Just a few weeks ago, Kiril had been at the top of his game, selling Big Skinny wallets at a Harvard Square street fair. Fairgoers passing the Big Skinny booth carried packed wallets, which Kiril could cut down to size. “Here’s a regular wallet, just out of the box,” he would say, “and here’s a Big Skinny. It’s the same thickness, but it’s already stuffed with 16 pieces of hard plastic—the national average.” Kiril had mastered this pitch, and he could easily sell over 100 wallets in a full-day fair. Street fair sales pitches had launched Big Skinny, and retail distribution and print advertising had fueled further expansion. But Kiril had bigger aspirations, and online marketing seemed the key to achieving maximal growth. The overwhelming response to Big Skinny’s promotion glitch confirmed that consumers were ready to buy wallets online. But reaching consumers over the Internet......

Words: 4265 - Pages: 18

Sweets

...donut lemon drops cheesecake. Cake icing sweet croissant. Ice cream chocolate pie sweet. Cupcake liquorice apple pie ice cream lemon drops icing sesame snaps brownie I love. I love powder soufflé macaroon. Danish icing I love I love. Chocolate cake tiramisu carrot cake. Gummi bears sweet pie pastry cupcake. Pie brownie dessert ice cream I love halvah candy canes. Muffin danish I love sweet roll. I love sugar plum pie I love I love cheesecake tootsie roll. I love candy gummi bears chocolate bar. Soufflé jelly ice cream cookie liquorice sweet croissant. Sweet I love soufflé I love. Gingerbread topping dessert I love tootsie roll cotton candy bear claw. I love chupa chups apple pie soufflé. Tootsie roll I love chupa chups gummi bears oat cake. Jelly beans soufflé I love cotton candy sweet roll I love muffin. Chocolate macaroon wafer lollipop wafer carrot cake cake. Bonbon chocolate bar cupcake marshmallow I love I love. Gummi bears tart topping I love pastry cookie sesame snaps pudding. Candy canes chocolate I love gingerbread. Cotton candy danish macaroon sweet roll I love. Chocolate bar I love macaroon brownie. Candy canes gingerbread cake. Cookie I love tiramisu biscuit marzipan cake. Candy canes pie sweet candy canes bear claw marzipan sugar plum donut candy. Lemon drops tootsie roll toffee lollipop macaroon bear claw. Soufflé jelly danish. Caramels tiramisu caramels danish apple pie sesame snaps. Halvah gummi bears croissant liquorice danish cheesecake gummi bears......

Words: 482 - Pages: 2

Skinny

...Skinny - Written Assignment When you first look at this advertisement a big banner proclaims a clear statement. “It’s hard to believe they once called me skinny”. You look at the big bold letters right in the middle of the advertisement and you know what it is about. If you let your eyes run down the ad you see a pair of young men looking at this female. The makers of this ad try deliberately to draw a picture of the ideal woman, and attempts to clarify how a woman’s appearance should be like. This ad says indirectly that, if you look like her, it will rain with men. This ad is clearly not from this century. Nowadays it is modern to be skinny and have a waist like a squirrel’s. Every commercial girl is skinny and hasn’t a single pound too much on her ribs. Today girls try desperately to lose weight and more and more girls suffer from eating disorder. It is surprising to me seeing how ideals among women have changed drastically. By the time this ad was made women used treatments to gain weight, and today it is the other way around. Women use treatments and products to lose weight. Commercials play a big role in this question of how a woman should look like? Makers of commercials have a capability to manipulate with all they do. At that time people believed in these commercials. And when it says “ Posed by professional models” they can’t by lying, right? And it says, results guaranteed and if you’re not satisfied, get your money refunded. This sounds in my ears...

Words: 403 - Pages: 2

The Real Skinny

...The Real Skinny In the article entitled The Real Skinny by the author Belinda Luscombe states that don’t blame models for being too thin. Look to the fat cats of fashion. After reading the article I believe the main idea the author is trying to make is that models are skinny not because they want to be, but because they have to be or they will not get any work. The people who make the big decisions in the fashion world wants all the models to be super skinny, but nobody will come forward and take responsibility for it. The author also states that consumers take a part in why models are too thin now days too. One of the first examples the author uses is when she talks about the modeling agencies, the motherly folks who inform the models that they can eat or work but not both, say it’s because photographers demand subjects with skin, bones and preferably nothing else. The photographers say it’s the designers who set the limits. The designers blamed the stylists, the people who put together the look for the photo shoots at the magazines. The magazines say its Hollywood or its advertisers. And the advertisers say people find their products better when on, next to, or usually just barely covering slender body types. By putting this information in the article the author shows the reader that everyone in the fashion world plays the balm game and nobody takes responsibility. The next example is when the author brings the consumer in by stating what do we the people say? Do we rise......

Words: 709 - Pages: 3

September 24th, 2018 | GoPro HERO7 Black Waterproof Digital Action Camera 4K HD Video 12MP + 32gb Kit | Gyilkos ügyek